Hawaii’s dedication to comprehensive health coverage began in 1974 when it passed the Hawaii Prepaid Healthcare Act
. With this law, Hawaii became the first state to set minimum standards of health care benefits for its workers. Hawaii companies must provide health care coverage to employees who:
- Work at least 20 hours per week
- Earn at least $628 per month (this amount is based on the state minimum wage).
Providing these requirements are met, employers must commence coverage after four (4) consecutive weeks of employment or the earliest time thereafter at which coverage can be provided by the health care plan contractor (usually the first of the month).
Additionally, to ensure employers provide their employees with adequate coverage, available plans must meet or exceed the standards of the prevalent Service
plans throughout the state, as defined by the Hawaii Prepaid Health Care Advisory Council
to see an up-to-date list of approved ESI plans in Hawaii.